YOU ARE HERE : About > Awards > Dubious Distinction Award
Dubious Distinction Award
2018 Dubious Distinction Award Inscription 
This award is given to the person(s) deemed to have done the most to save the other members of the Club from having their own blunders recognized.  This handsome piece of questionably useful furniture is given in grateful appreciation that the previous recipient won’t receive it two times in a row.

The club owes its admiration to this year’s earner who was the PRO for one of the early Wednesday night races who had some difficulty remembering the procedure for running a race.  While setting the course in a light Northerly he had the mark boat set the offset mark to the right side of the windward mark.  He was overheard saying “something doesn’t look quite right, but I’m not sure”.  After some guidance was provided, he did get a nice W6 course set up.  The fading wind hinted that the race would not be the planned 6 legs and he needed to shorten the course.  Ignoring all the silly protocols and requirements of the Racing Rules of Sailing, he elected to announce this by yelling as we sailed past the committee boat on the first downwind that we were only going to sail 5 legs.  This was only the second leg, so using simple math we all realized that we had do another upwind, downwind and upwind leg and the race continued…  On the next downwind, he decided that really only 4 legs were appropriate and as we neared the committee boat again he began yelling that we should just come over and finish right now. Fortunately the wind was light and his voice was loud (and Gary wasn’t there), so we all complied and finished as directed.  To be fair, what he did worked, but for total disregard of all sailing rules, instructions, training, standard procedures and practices we award the Hat Rack for 2018 to:

For this very special set of achievements, the Hat Rack Award is presented with much pleasure for the year 2018 to:

Don Bennett

"The Hat Rack Award"

The person who is deemed to have done the most to save the other members of the club from having their own nautical blunders recognized.

Previous Winners 

   2017 Seth Newton  
   2016  Jeff Sprung  
   2015  Mike Ganshirt  
   2014 Don Bennett  
  2013 Mark Stoughton  
  2012 Bob Gaffney  
  2011 Rick & Niki Tattersfield  
  2010 Ed Wojtaszek  
Rich Hirsch
Scott Rosa
  2007 Ron Alman  
  2006 Harold & Myrna Levin  
  2005 Harvey Davidson  
  2004 Ron Alman  
  2003 Diane Kampf  
  2002 Mike Jones  
  2001 Tim Ryan  
  2000 Lenore Olsen  
  1999 Jay McNeff  
  1998 Peter Kovat  
  1997 Jim Cavanagh  
  1996 Morey Waltuck  
  1995 Bruce Fitzpatrick  
  1994 Ed Herman  
  1992 Marty Neuman  
  1991 Carole Isgur  
  1990 Dan Waltuck  
  1989 Ralph Rieu  
  1988 Dave Keller  
  1987 Joe & Joseph DeCarlo  
  1986 Ed Isgur  
  1985 Dick Kelly  
  1983 Judy Hartmann  
  1982 Bill Ackerman  
  1981 Al Landry  
  1980 David Landry  
  1979 Tom Scott  
  1978 Jim Simmons  
  1977 Betty McKinnon & Martha Rich  
  1976 C.Byers  
  1975 G. Gleason  
  1974 Lloyd McDonald  
  1973 Hal Lavien  
  1972 Max Sarazin  
  1971 Eleanor Linden  
  1970 Harold Lavien  
  1969 Ralph Hynes  
  1968 Red Healy  
  1967 Don Stoddard  
  1966 Gordon McKinnon  
  1965 John Hughes  
  1964 Larry Lawrence  
  1963 Phillip Sheridan  
  1962 Gordon MacInnes  
  1961 Al Kamp  
  1960 Doc Freedman  
  1959 Roy Larsen  
  1958 Warren Churchill  
  1957 Nudd & Holt  
  1956 George Cosman  
  1955 Bun Congdon  
Contact Information
58 Lakeview Street P.O.Box 18, Sharon, MA 02067    Lat: 42° 5' 52" N     Lon: 71° 10' 50" W 
Copyright 2011- 2019 by Massapoag Yacht Club Created by Connect 2 Clubs