Massapoag Fleets

MYC's Flying Scot Fleet and the 2012 NAC

Flying Scots at the NAC 
- about 1/4 of the fleet
 Fleet Captain Greg Kampf
and the Fleet of the Year Award


Greg and Diane Kampf and Ed and Eric Wojtaszek made the long trek, 1100+ miles west, to Lake Carlyle in Illinois for the 2012 Flying Scot NAC from 6/24 - 6/29/2012.  There were 63 boats participating, and with steady winds the whole week, ranging from 10 knots to 25 knots, the PRO was able to hold all planned events.  The Women's NAC was won by Melanie Dunham, along with the Joan Burnside Memorial trophy. 

The Juniors was won by Greiner Hobbs, who also was awarded the Fleet 76 perpetual trophy.  The Challenger Division was won by Frank and Marianne Gerry and the Championship went to Jeff and Amy Smith Linton.  The steady winds every day made most people forget about the blistering heat as long as we were on the water, but on land the heat was sometimes overwhelming.  Due to the forecast of 100+ degrees, all racing was completed by Thursday. 

At the FSSA Annual Meeting, Fleet 76 was awarded the prestigious Fleet of the Year Award for 2012, an honor we also were awarded in 2006.  This is given to the fleet demonstrating all around excellence in performance.  MYC member Diane Kampf was re-elected FSSA President for the coming year.

Contact Information

Massapoag Yacht Club58 Lakeview Street P.O.Box 18
Sharon, MA 02067

Lat: 42° 5' 52" N     Lon: 71° 10' 50" W

Email:  [email protected]